Skip to main content

Congratulations to our award recipients of the 2019 BC Cancer Excellence Awards

The BC Cancer Excellence Awards shine a light on the inspiring people and teams at BC Cancer making a difference for our patients and families each and every day.
Use this image only for News listings

​The BC Cancer Excellence Awards highlight the incredible individuals and teams who work to ensure that British Columbians receive world-class, patient-centred cancer screening, treatment and support, or benefit from new discoveries that are helping change the face of cancer. Award recipients were celebrated at the BC Cancer Summit awards dinner on Friday, November 22 at the Sheraton Wall Centre in Vancouver as well as at their respective centres.

Congratulations to all our award recipients who go above and beyond for our patients and their families.

Watch our heartwarming videos recognizing our award recipients:

Unsung Hero Award:

Craig Giles, Patient Care Aide, BC Cancer – Surrey

Workplace Inspiration Award: 

Dr. Stacy Miller, Radiation Oncologist, Executive Medical Director, BC Cancer – Prince George 

Patient Care Champion Award (nominated by staff):

Dr. Karen Goddard, Radiation Oncologist, BC Cancer – Vancouver

Patient Care Champion Award (nominated by patients): 

Dr. Phillip Malpass, Nelson - Community Oncology Network

Teamwork and Collaboration in Action Award: 

Early Palliative Integration into Cancer Care (EPICC) Team: Dr. Michael McKenzie, Sara Camano, Antony Porcino, Beth Skuggedal, Prince George Implementation Team, EPICC model of care, education and evaluation working groups

Innovation and Discovery in Action Award:

Kelowna Brachytherapy Team: Drs. Juanita Crook, François Bachand, Deidre Batchelar, and Michelle Hilts, BC Cancer – Kelowna

For more information about our awards, go to

SOURCE: Congratulations to our award recipients of the 2019 BC Cancer Excellence Awards ( )
Page printed: . Unofficial document if printed. Please refer to SOURCE for latest information.

Copyright © BC Cancer. All Rights Reserved.

    Copyright © 2024 Provincial Health Services Authority